About Hong Kong: Climate

While thinking about all the things I need to pack and already making a must-not-forget-list, I realized that I might need some warm clothing as well, even though Hong Kong is known for its warm climate. My suspicion got confirmed when I downloaded the schools joining papers, including a page about things we should bring: In winter the temperature can drop below 10°C! Who would have expected that?! So I thought I should take a closer look at the Hong Kong climate:

Seasons
Hong Kong has a sub-tropical climate with distinct seasons. The only predictable weather events that could have a significant impact on your travel plans are typhoons.

Typhoon season begins in May and ends in November. When a typhoon is approaching, warnings are broadcast on television and radio (I rememebr reading about a typhoon in one of my secondyear’s blogs). Apparently, there are various degrees of warning signals issued by the Hong Kong Observatory, but when the no. 8 signal is in place, most businesses and shops close down and flights may be cancelled. There is even a separate warning system for heavy rain! You can find detailed information about current and seasonal weather on the Hong Kong Observatory website. While you’re in Hong Kong, you can also dial 1878 200 and press ‘3’ for English to check the latest situation. I will surely try that out!

What to expect from Hong Kong’s seasons

Spring (March to May)

In Spring temperature and humidity are rising. Evenings can be cool, but the weather is quite warm. I am excited to see all the beautiful flowers bloom in spring! Lots of pictures to take!
Average Temperature: 17oC – 26 oC

Summer (June to August)

Summer in Hong Kong is hot, humid and sunny, with occasional showers and thunderstorms. The temperature can exceed 31°C but high humidity levels can make it feel even hotter. That should not be a big problem for me, as I am used to these kind of temperatures from Turkey.
Average Temperature: 26oC – 31 oC

Autumn (September to November)

As far as I found out, there are pleasant breezes, plenty of sunshine and comfortable temperatures. Many people regard these as the best months of the year to visit Hong Kong. Average Temperature: 19oC – 28 oC

Winter (December to February)

Winter in Hong Kong is cool, dry and cloudy, with occasional cold fronts. The temperature can drop below 10°C in urban areas and as my school does not have central heating I will need to pack lots of warm clothes! It will be my first winter in China. Average Temperature: 12oC – 20 oC

Most of the year it will be warm in Hong Kong, and I am surely looking forward to that! Three “nice seasons” and one “cold season”. I don’t think I have any reason to complain. In Germany it is raining right now and the thermometer showed 14°C today… according to the weather forecast tomorrow it will be 8°C. Spring and sunshine are far away, so I am excited about studying for exams outside and in the sunlight in Hong Kong and about finally being able to use my own self-shot photos on my blog! Be ready!

Adapted from: http://www.discoverhongkong.com/eng/plan-your-trip/know-hong-kong/climate.jsp#ixzz2U8WPlDTu

Image: http://www.architecturepics.org/wp-content/uploads/2012/06/Hong-Kong-Sunset-Union-Square-China.jpg