Zodiacs and Space Museums

Term 2 has now truly and officially started. The steadily increasing workload has become a norm and campus has returned to normal. Now that the excitement of the first weeks is over, I once again realized how fast time goes by! Today is CCE – the Chinese Cultural Evening!! All our CCE students have practices and rehearsed a lot (which in this context I feel is an understatement, as they spent almost every free minute of the day preparing the big show). Campus is beautifully decorated with Zodiac symbols, the theme of this year’s CCE performance, in consideration of the fast approcahing Chinese New Year, and red lanterns. I am already incredibly excited!! my tutor and head of house, Hayley, is still in Australia. her son Aitan had a car accident during Christmas break thereand he is still in treatment. We are all missing them incredibly much and campus is not the same without the Goldberg family and cute little Aitan riding his bike. Sylla, my history teacher invited me to join his tutor group for tutor dinner, as both Hayley as well as my emergency tutor Michele, as she unfortunately broke her leg, are both not available. It was a lovely dinner with delicious CHinese food, prepared by the firsties in the tutor group. Munya, my buddy from Zimbabwe, made incredibly delicious nutella french toasts for us and I cannot even put into words how fast they were gone. Yummy!

Image

Image

Besides trying to finish all my work as efficient as possible, I have spent most of my past days in the assembly hall, rehearsing for the next Independent Theatre Project I will be acting in. As said, it is a piece by Hermann Hesse 🙂 Our directors and screenwriters Min and Phoo are lovely and I can’t recall a single rehearsal after which I did not go back to my with a huge smile on my face. The cast is wonderful… and we spent every free minute dancing to Latin American songs or singing our lines in order to remember them. A little spoiler: Once again I will be acting in a role, that you would not expect. While I was a human trafficker and rapist, so to speak, in the last IP by Maria, I am a mother – a pregnant mother – in this theatre production.

Image

Oh, and a few days ago we had another block activity: An An afternoon in the Hong Kong Space Museum in TST including a movie in the museum’s 8,000 square meters overhead dome theatre. Walking through the themed exhibitions made me miss my childhood, as I used to spent quite a lot of time in science museums… oh, the great ‘ole days.

Image

Image

Image

My roomie Yuki turned 18 on Tuesday and we prepared a little scavenger hunt with gifts for her in the room. She had to find all the clues and hidden gifts, before she was allowed to eat her cake! As well, Arnett our principal invited my tutor group for dinner. Rose, had prepared homemade pizza, fried rice and salad for us and equipped with the food we walked over to Arnett’s house where we enjoyed the delicious home-cooked meal and a quite engaging discussion about student welfare, the limits of art in theatre productions and funny wedding traditions.

I also redid my corner at the beginning of this term, making it look much more homey and tropical. Besides an oriental curtain that I hung up, I decorated the wall behind my desk with a poster of the beach (so that I can do homework under palm trees now) and my little cupboard has now a beautiful little lamp and bamboo mats placed on it.

Image

So much more has happened, but time is short, so stay tuned for the next blog post!!