The difference between cultural exchange and cultural appropriation

What a week it was. Head of House Drinks, farewell videos to our second years and teachers, special dinner, graduation and farewells at the gate… I don’t think words can describe all of these events, but I will try my best in the next blog posts.

10341554_10202175866702959_3095525197989155353_n

The school year is officially over. Over the course of the last two days  everybody has left campus, only the students facilitating the one-week “Initiative for Peace” Conference have remained. It seems almost impossible to believe that we will not see most of our second years again. Yesterday we picked up our Filipino participants for our  One more busy, but great week with wonderful students from conflicting regions in the Philippines.

“World peace must develop from inner peace. Peace is not just mere absence of violence. Peace is, I think, the manifestation of human compassion.” -Dalai Lama XIV

My flight back home is on this Saturday and as soon as I get back, I will catch up on the above mentioned blog posts, so stay tuned! During this week, I’d like to leave you with a very interesting article I came across about the difference between cultural exchange and cultural appropriation. It touches upon points I consider to be very important, especially in a UWC context and for those of us who like going abroad with the purpose of fostering intercultural exchange. Have a read here!